Search found 31 matches

by Moria tour guide
Tue Feb 21, 2006 3:30 am
Forum: Tips & Tricks
Topic: Fallen Saruman and Wormtongue
Replies: 5
Views: 10981

How can an agent keep a protected site in play?

I see that to play Saruman's Machinery, you need a protected wizardhaven.

So I cannot see you statement being correct if I have not missed anything.

Thanks.
by Moria tour guide
Thu Feb 16, 2006 2:57 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Promptings of Wisdom
Replies: 29
Views: 13749

I agree with Bandobras Took statements in the previous post. :!: Let's remember that there is a language chasm between Europe and North America. IMHO, the Europeans have more experience with MECCG from the active play there and maybe the card was miswritten. I am taking french right now, and transla...
by Moria tour guide
Sat Feb 11, 2006 4:39 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Promptings of Wisdom
Replies: 29
Views: 13749

Mark A, I understand your explaination, but I was referring to affect of tapping the site you are moving away from during the movement phase; I did not explain that too well. About Goldberry, yes she has a good, albeit limited assistance to moving but she gives a 1 MP; while promptings give zero MP....
by Moria tour guide
Sat Feb 11, 2006 1:50 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Promptings of Wisdom
Replies: 29
Views: 13749

My view on the text is that it covers all 3 instances. There are 2 ''or'' in the text; so if you argue that it covers only one instance, then you must continue with your logic and say the text states for the player to choose either: *cancel returning company affect *cancel tapping your current site ...
by Moria tour guide
Thu Feb 02, 2006 3:19 am
Forum: Talk
Topic: book: The Gospel According to Tolkien
Replies: 8
Views: 13798

I am taking the course at the University of Missouri-Columbia in Missouri, USA (Religious Studies 2005). The course is taught by an emeritus professor. The professor has much honor to him and he is allowed to teach any class he wants at the university. 8) From comments by others: JRRT is a big reaso...
by Moria tour guide
Thu Feb 02, 2006 2:58 am
Forum: Optional Rules
Topic: [UEP, discussion] <Last Child of Ungoliant and Shelob>
Replies: 44
Views: 51229

For an UEP I say a No. I understand your viewpoint that the ally is cool and Tom does not have such a problem. I have two comments: First, Tom goes about helping people in need; Shelob only cares about herself; so when dinner walks through Imlad Morgul, she is going to depart to hunt. The hinderance...
by Moria tour guide
Tue Jan 31, 2006 1:43 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: MEDM hero resource canceling hazards and minion versions
Replies: 2
Views: 2034

Thank you for the clarification. :)
by Moria tour guide
Sun Jan 29, 2006 8:52 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: MEDM hero resource canceling hazards and minion versions
Replies: 2
Views: 2034

MEDM hero resource canceling hazards and minion versions

I have a question about the MEDM hazards: Earth-tremors, The Reach of Ulmo and the like that prevent and/or cancel resource effects. For example, Earth-tremors prevent the playing of Great Road. Does Earth-tremors prevent the playing of Iron Road too? Will The Reach of Ulmo cancel a Hidden Ways? I l...
by Moria tour guide
Sun Jan 29, 2006 4:07 am
Forum: Talk
Topic: book: The Gospel According to Tolkien
Replies: 8
Views: 13798

book: The Gospel According to Tolkien

As anyone read this book by Ralph Wood?
ISBN: 0-664-22610-8

If so, care to share you opinion about it?

I am asking since I am taking a course on the theology of Tolkien. We have to read this book, CS Lewis's Mere Christianity and the biography by Humphrey Carpenter on Tolkien.

Thanks.
by Moria tour guide
Sun Jan 29, 2006 4:03 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: About the site phase
Replies: 1
Views: 1712

From my knowledge of the official rules; you can enter combat after playing a resource, but not after making an influence attempt. from MELE rules PART IV · USING MELE WITH METW Now, the MELE rules state that you cannot enter combat if you have already made an influence attempt and combat occurs at ...
by Moria tour guide
Mon Jan 16, 2006 3:49 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Wizard's River-horses
Replies: 13
Views: 6980

So,

an ally is assigned a strike when the company faces an attack that gives a strike to each character in the company?

Thanks,
by Moria tour guide
Sun Jan 15, 2006 11:25 pm
Forum: Dream Cards & Scenarios
Topic: Spells. Always Wizard only?
Replies: 11
Views: 7390

Yes, my questions was 'just talk', but more exactly to
be 'lets talk, and see if there is potential for more expansion in MECCG'.
The given comments were good for me to see that such an expansion is not in order.

I shall improve my placement of threads in the future.

Thanks.
by Moria tour guide
Sun Jan 15, 2006 11:18 pm
Forum: Dream Cards & Scenarios
Topic: CELEDHRING
Replies: 8
Views: 6212

I like for this dark elf from MERP to be in MECCG, and I also agree with the previous post. Some alterations that will keep the tune of this card: I like the 3MP, 8 mind, 2 DI and 3 prowess. A high mind elf ok in combat. The 8 body is ok, but making it a 7 body will force the player to beef up the e...
by Moria tour guide
Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:40 pm
Forum: Dream Cards & Scenarios
Topic: Lure of War
Replies: 6
Views: 5053

Apology accepted Narim. No offense taken. I remind myself that I am sitting in front of a screen and words lose a lot when written down. I try to read the threads like I am listening to a good companion of many years about a game we both like that has been out of print for 5 years. That is why this ...
by Moria tour guide
Wed Jan 11, 2006 12:31 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: On-Guard Short-events: No chance for response?
Replies: 29
Views: 12826

About Narya, I am seeing Konrad's view point. I would agree with Konrad on Narya if "Immediately" was not in the text and the corruption check statement was in its own paragraph. The -5 to the check does support Konrad's viewpoint. Konrad's viewpoint will support the better use of Gandalf, I will no...