Search found 838 matches

by Jambo
Tue Dec 11, 2007 9:59 am
Forum: Optional Rules
Topic: [UEP, Failed] We Have Come to Kill -- DI Only
Replies: 27
Views: 22096

stone trolls are pretty stubborn, I hear. ;)
by Jambo
Thu Nov 29, 2007 3:59 pm
Forum: Optional Rules
Topic: [UEP, Failed] We Have Come to Kill -- DI Only
Replies: 27
Views: 22096

Voted no.  In my opinion the problem isn't so much whether it's GI vs DI, but more when cards like these can be used, i.e. during site phase as a cheap way pass the auto attack to get items, factions, etc.   Compare these to the abilities of Khamul or the WK or other cards enabling charact...
by Jambo
Mon Sep 17, 2007 11:59 am
Forum: Optional Rules
Topic: [UEP, Failed] Blind/Ire cannot be used on Ring Tests
Replies: 42
Views: 32774

Can minion resources be used to test hero rings?  If so, then that'll scupper someone who's sideboarded over Blind to the West(s).

One could always try to get the minion version of the One ring?

Also, don't you get one roll to win per A New Ringlord in play?
by Jambo
Tue Aug 28, 2007 3:39 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Influencing characters with agents
Replies: 20
Views: 9630

Eyelid wrote:Revealing a character, ally, faction or item to modify the result is character-specific as I understand it. I'm pretty confident no hazard in the game allows you to reveal anything in this fashion.
Ride Against the Enemy? ;)
by Jambo
Fri Jun 01, 2007 5:35 pm
Forum: General
Topic: Angus McBride has passed away
Replies: 5
Views: 5239

Wow, I never realised how old he was!  I just remember loving his art on all the MERP modules. A great Tolkien artist.  RIP.
by Jambo
Fri Apr 13, 2007 12:43 pm
Forum: Optional Rules
Topic: UEP Ratification
Replies: 6
Views: 8816

The only UEPs I continue to feel strongly about are: Many-coloured Robes Sneakin' Flies and Spiders German promos And since WHCtK and ACM are ruled as they are, the Balrog 2-mind rule Virtual cards do more for perceived weak strategies like active RWs than any of the current UEPs and given they're n...
by Jambo
Thu Apr 05, 2007 10:17 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Uvatha´s special ability
Replies: 19
Views: 9111

The whole issue regarding RW followers, how and when they can played, and whether they can be played using cards like WHCtK needs to resolved once and for all.  The only reason it probably hasn't already is because nobody in their right mind uses RWs with RW followers in any shape or form in a ...
by Jambo
Wed Apr 04, 2007 11:37 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Uvatha´s special ability
Replies: 19
Views: 9111

Bandobras Took wrote:But this isn't "may be brought into play," this is "may join."

We likewise distinguish between, say, "playing" an item with a character and "placing" an item.
QFT :)

Edit: Thought this was a well known internet acronym!  :oops: QFT = Quoted For Truth. :)
by Jambo
Tue Apr 03, 2007 9:14 pm
Forum: Decks
Topic: [Fallen Saruman Resource] Ordered to Goodwill
Replies: 7
Views: 4867

Don't agents have to use hero sites in FW decks?
by Jambo
Tue Apr 03, 2007 10:14 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Highwayman attacks! - Sacrifice of Form
Replies: 18
Views: 7376

Despite some ambiguity over the interpretation of the card and the crf entry, I'm not so sure this card is broken in its current form.  SoF is a powerful card which can net you up to 5 MPs.  The only indication a hazard player ever has is a wizard that's roaming alone or without followers,...
by Jambo
Thu Mar 29, 2007 3:56 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Unhappy_Blows
Replies: 17
Views: 6891

So, just to surmise this mess: The Great Lord of Goblin Gate is an "Orc" and the Great Troll is a "Troll".  Because they're labelled as such do they make companies minion overt or just overt? The Two-headed Troll and Cave Troll, and (all?) other allies for that matter, have no detailed type/rac...
by Jambo
Thu Mar 29, 2007 1:28 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Unhappy_Blows
Replies: 17
Views: 6891

So why is "Troll" emblazoned across the title of the card not considered a keyword?? Having Elf -stone in a company is not the same as having an Elf in the company.;) lol, you'd get thrown out of court for basing your case on that as an example! ;) Mod note: Accidentally edited miguel's early post ...
by Jambo
Thu Mar 29, 2007 1:12 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Unhappy_Blows
Replies: 17
Views: 6891

So why is "Troll" emblazoned across the title of the card not considered a keyword??   That's about as key as one could get and should certainly hold just as much relevance as having Orc or Troll clarified within the text of the card. Either that or no allies have a race. I've read that digest ...
by Jambo
Thu Mar 29, 2007 12:37 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Unhappy_Blows
Replies: 17
Views: 6891

Mikko, Race in the MELE glossary is defined as: An attribute given in a character's classification line. What's a character's classification line?  To me it would be the "Warrior/Ranger Elf" part.  So, if correct, how is this applicable to allies?  Strictly speaking does any ally even...
by Jambo
Thu Mar 29, 2007 9:46 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Unhappy_Blows
Replies: 17
Views: 6891

Actually Two-headed Troll and Cave Troll have no race in their cardtexts, so they don't count for Unhappy Blows. Other than the fact they have "Troll" in their title! What are they if they aren't trolls? lol.  :roll: Our Own Wolves mentions "wolf allies", of which the War-Warg, Warg-king and W...