Search found 838 matches

by Jambo
Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:57 pm
Forum: Optional Rules
Topic: [UEP, withdrawn] Minion arkenstone
Replies: 5
Views: 8029

Sometimes, as minion player, I've found the minion arkenstone the only way I can disrupt a good hero dwarf deck based around Unexpected Party. Like Nicolai said, playing the hero version of the Arkenstone becomes much more important in a hero dwarf deck playing against minions.  I like the rami...
by Jambo
Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:04 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Highwayman attacks! - Sacrifice of Form
Replies: 18
Views: 7316

Please take note that the minion Arkenstone says "(and all non-follower cards he controls)," but that Sac of Form does not.  This is the reason for the ruling that Sac of Form forces you to discard the wizard's followers. Good point.   How does SoF interact with the crf? Discard - Wheneve...
by Jambo
Mon Mar 26, 2007 12:04 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Highwayman attacks! - Bringing Characters into Play
Replies: 32
Views: 14138

Thrall of the Voice is the only card that says "Instead of a.." so that to me is clear that it's not in addition to the 1 character per turn. Wacho (aka David) found some text in the Wizard's players guide to suggest that ACM and WHCtK can be used at any time a company is at a site (i.e. not necessa...
by Jambo
Mon Mar 26, 2007 10:22 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Highwayman attacks! - Sacrifice of Form
Replies: 18
Views: 7316

Unless this was based on a specific ICE ruling on Sacrifice of Form, this is one I'd also like to see overturned.
by Jambo
Tue Mar 20, 2007 3:55 pm
Forum: Dream Cards & Scenarios
Topic: Assault on Orthanc
Replies: 4
Views: 6430

Nice idea.

Couple of suggestions:

Maybe Maia 3@13, since the hazard manifestation of Saruman is 3 strikes?

Character must tap to play this card otherwise it's discarded?
by Jambo
Tue Mar 20, 2007 2:43 pm
Forum: Optional Rules
Topic: UEP rules in tournament
Replies: 4
Views: 5088

Hi, There's no real set tournaments as such. Instead it's down to individual tournament organisers as to whether they adopt one or more of the UEPs.  The balrog 2-mind rule has been used in various National tournaments and after looking at the blurb about the Polish Nationals which are about to...
by Jambo
Tue Mar 20, 2007 4:39 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Traitor and Marvels Told
Replies: 15
Views: 5593

The point I am making is that the card is still on the table after you fail the corruption check. It's in very clear text that the card is discarded after the failed cc, so I'm not too sure I can say any more really.  Granted, the original version of Traitor would have worked as you're suggest...
by Jambo
Mon Mar 19, 2007 11:18 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Traitor and Marvels Told
Replies: 15
Views: 5593

When the next character fails a corruption check, he becomes a "traitor" and an attack is immediately made against a character in the traitor's company. The character to be attacked is chosen by the player who does not control the traitor's company. The prowess of the attack is equal to the prowess...
by Jambo
Mon Mar 19, 2007 6:49 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Traitor and Marvels Told
Replies: 15
Views: 5593

There is  time to MT Traitor before the Traitor card resolves.  The last phrase on the Traitor card that discards Traitor only happens after everything else (the traitor attack, etc.).  It is the last event to happen in the chain. You can't use MT on a card that's no longer on the ta...
by Jambo
Thu Mar 15, 2007 1:48 pm
Forum: Optional Rules
Topic: [UEP, Failed] Nazgul Attacks against the Balrog.
Replies: 39
Views: 34157

Ben, you could just re-do the vote?
by Jambo
Wed Mar 14, 2007 11:06 am
Forum: Optional Rules
Topic: [UEP, Failed] Nazgul Attacks against the Balrog.
Replies: 39
Views: 34157

Nazgul hazard creature attacks keyed to those Balrog sites would attack normally, as per site card text, instead of detainment as per LE rules.
by Jambo
Wed Mar 14, 2007 10:26 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: [CoE] [NetRep] Rulings Digest #116
Replies: 4
Views: 2131

So one conclusion is that Tormented Earth can cancel an auto-attack? Huh? The Tormented Earth Short-event Magic. Sorcery. Playable on a sorcery-using character facing a non-automatic-attack . Cancels the attack or gives the attack -3 prowess, your choice. Unless he is a Ringwraith, character makes ...
by Jambo
Tue Mar 13, 2007 1:48 pm
Forum: Tips & Tricks
Topic: Ruminations on Palantíri
Replies: 19
Views: 18591

I've got a Saruman VC Palantir deck which has worked surprisingly well given it's versus minion!

Without using Virtual cards though, playing a hero Palantir deck is just too risky when Bane of the Ithil Stone and corruption are so prevalent.
by Jambo
Mon Mar 12, 2007 5:58 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: fw using hero/minion cards
Replies: 2
Views: 1838

However, Fallen-wizard orcs and trolls cannot use hero resources that require a skill.  So an orc or troll could not use Muster for example.
by Jambo
Sun Mar 11, 2007 5:56 pm
Forum: General
Topic: New Spoilers
Replies: 2
Views: 3846

Super! That's a very useful thing to have. :)