Ringwraith allies + mode

Ask any question regarding the game's (official) rules

Moderators: Jambo, Moderators

Post Reply
Arioch
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 8:57 am

Ringwraith allies + mode

Post by Arioch » Sat Jul 30, 2005 5:54 pm

May I play a "mode" card on a Ringwraith that already has an ally that allows him to move (Black Horse or Creature from an Older World)?
If yes, what happens? Is the ringwraith considered to be in the same mode of the last card played because of timing rules? May he use the other benefits from the ally, like the +2 prowess from the Creature?
Blood & Souls for Arioch!

User avatar
Gwaihir
Founder, dev. lead
Posts: 2250
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Gwaihir » Tue Sep 20, 2005 11:07 pm

CRF, by term, modes wrote:When one mode effect is applied to a Ringwraith, all other cards applying a mode effect to that Ringwraith are discarded.
So, if once that effect resolves the ally still tries to apply a mode too, the ally would be discarded.  :arrow:  Think well before you make such a move. :)

[AFAIK the only play that would stop an ally already present from applying a mode would be playing a Black Horse on a ringwraith with a Creature of an Older World.]
Gwaihir.net - The Middle-earth CCG store
May the wind under your wings bear your where the sun sails and the moon walks -- J.R.R.T.

Jambo
Moderator
Posts: 988
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2003 11:58 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Post by Jambo » Wed Sep 21, 2005 12:04 pm

So CoaOW played on a RW with a Black Horse would or wouldn't result in the Black Horse being discarded?  :oops:

Wacho
Moderator
Posts: 622
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 3:56 am
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Post by Wacho » Wed Sep 21, 2005 3:36 pm

Jambo wrote:So CoaOW played on a RW with a Black Horse would or wouldn't result in the Black Horse being discarded?  :oops:
Right.  Since Creature of an Older World won't put the RW in Fell Rider Mode, the discard of previous mode card is not triggered.  The RW is still in Black Rider mode.

henrikbe
Posts: 162
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 10:29 am
Location: Norway

Post by henrikbe » Thu Sep 22, 2005 7:45 am

Wacho wrote:Since Creature of an Older World won't put the RW in Fell Rider Mode
Unless he is the only character in his company, I suppose :?:
Henrik

User avatar
Lord Leuber
Posts: 433
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 6:35 pm
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Lord Leuber » Thu Sep 22, 2005 11:29 am

This situation deals with a RW already having a Black Horse and then getting CoaOW. In this case, the RW is still in Black Rider mode.

(CRF, CoaOW: This card will not put a Ringwraith into Fell Rider mode if there are any other allies in the company)

Post Reply