Fallen Wizards and playing Orcs

Ask any question regarding the game's (official) rules

Moderators: Jambo, Moderators

Post Reply
Bandobras Took
Moderator
Posts: 1275
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 5:03 pm

Fallen Wizards and playing Orcs

Post by Bandobras Took » Sat Sep 03, 2005 11:05 pm

In the character draft, must an appropriate stage card be played before any orcs/trolls can be played, or can orcs be played so long as by the end of the draft you have appropriate cards for them?

Zarathustra
Posts: 1968
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2003 9:07 pm
Location: NY

Post by Zarathustra » Sun Sep 04, 2005 12:21 am

You need the stage card first.

Sauron_the_Great
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 12:31 am
Location: Alfter, Germany (normally Barad-Dur, Mordor but I'm on holidays at the moment)

Post by Sauron_the_Great » Sun Sep 04, 2005 9:09 am

Note that you can play Orcs and Trolls by playing "Thrall of the Voice" before

delosanillos
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2004 9:30 pm

Post by delosanillos » Tue Sep 06, 2005 1:19 pm

Sauron_the_Great wrote:Note that you can play Orcs and Trolls by playing "Thrall of the Voice" before
i can not understand how Thrall of the Voice can put into the game orcs and trolls... exist a errata of correption of the card??

Sauron_the_Great
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 12:31 am
Location: Alfter, Germany (normally Barad-Dur, Mordor but I'm on holidays at the moment)

Post by Sauron_the_Great » Tue Sep 06, 2005 2:12 pm

Thrall of the Voice:

Instead of a normal character, during your organization phase you may bring into play one character (including a minion agent) with up to a 6 mind. Place this card with the character. -1 to his mind to a minimum of 1. Such a character may also be in your starting company.


This card overrides the normal playablity restrictions of characters. So you can play an agent without "Open to the Summons" in your starting company and also an Orc or Troll without "Bad Company".

The keyword here is "normal"...every character that possibly could (by any means) be played can be played. The only restriction to be met is that character needs to have a maximum mind of 6.

Several Fallen-Radagast/Pallando decks make use of this card by playing a Troll-Chief (6 mind) at the Etten-moors (w/ Hidden Haven) along with Thrall of the Voice and a Blazon of the Eye to get all 3 faction playable there for 10 MP out of a haven for 5 min...that's quite hard to beat...

User avatar
Lord Leuber
Posts: 433
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 6:35 pm
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Lord Leuber » Tue Sep 06, 2005 6:42 pm

It's 9 MP, since the CRF states that FW's get 1 MP for the 3 factions played on a leader thing.

Or were you referring to the Guarded Haven they play as well?

User avatar
Sauron
Posts: 485
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 6:04 pm

Post by Sauron » Tue Sep 06, 2005 7:38 pm

Don't forget long Greivous Sieges.

6 Faction
2 Char
1 Hidden Haven
2 Sieges

12 MPs hard to beat :)

Bandobras Took
Moderator
Posts: 1275
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 5:03 pm

Post by Bandobras Took » Tue Sep 06, 2005 11:38 pm

Not too hard . . . Jambo's got a Fallen Gandalf deck that could probably get rid of the Troll Chief by turn two. :)

Beornd
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 9:05 pm
Location: Wildon/Austria

Post by Beornd » Wed Sep 07, 2005 7:04 pm

Sauron wrote:Don't forget long Greivous Sieges.

6 Faction
2 Char
1 Hidden Haven
2 Sieges

12 MPs hard to beat :)
how does it work to untap etten-moors in a fast way?

bb

User avatar
Sauron
Posts: 485
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 6:04 pm

Post by Sauron » Wed Sep 07, 2005 8:39 pm

If you influence those factions with a leader they go under the control of the leader and do not tap the site.

Beornd
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 9:05 pm
Location: Wildon/Austria

Post by Beornd » Thu Sep 08, 2005 7:01 pm

Sauron wrote:If you influence those factions with a leader they go under the control of the leader and do not tap the site.
is it possible to do so on a tapped site??

Sauron_the_Great
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 12:31 am
Location: Alfter, Germany (normally Barad-Dur, Mordor but I'm on holidays at the moment)

Post by Sauron_the_Great » Thu Sep 08, 2005 7:20 pm

there is a difference between "does not tap the site" and "playable at a tapped site"...

so I think you need the untapped site...

User avatar
Sauron
Posts: 485
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 6:04 pm

Post by Sauron » Thu Sep 08, 2005 8:18 pm

This is not possible on a tapped site afaik

User avatar
Lord Leuber
Posts: 433
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 6:35 pm
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Lord Leuber » Thu Sep 08, 2005 8:33 pm

CRF: Unless otherwise stated, you need an untapped site to play a faction, item or ally.

Nothing is stated on any of the cards involved, so the site needs to be untapped.

Post Reply