Transferring allies?

Ask any question regarding the game's (official) rules

Moderators: Jambo, Moderators

Post Reply
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 1:50 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Transferring allies?

Post by Scurvodsky » Fri Oct 28, 2005 2:20 pm

Is it possible to transfer an ally? Or is an ally stuck with the person who gets it for the rest of the game? E.g. if a company picks up Tom Bombadil and then goes to Rivendell. Can they drop him off with Halbarad, who stays in Rivendell all game, so that the rest of the company can go off elsewhere?

Also, what happens if the character controlling the ally dies? Is the ally transferred or does he have to be discarded?


Posts: 517
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 8:53 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by Peter » Fri Oct 28, 2005 2:24 pm

Well as I understand it you can't transfer and ally and you have to discard it on the discard of it's controlling character. This is great fun btw when Calling Home a character with lot's of allies under him.

User avatar
Posts: 413
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 4:00 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI

Post by jhunholz » Fri Oct 28, 2005 2:53 pm

Yep, allies are attached to their controlling character. So you can't transfer them like items.

User avatar
Posts: 202
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post by Strider » Fri Oct 28, 2005 4:38 pm

If I remember correctly, there was an optional rule that makes it legal to transfer an ally. I think you had to make an influence check as if you were trying to incluence the ally from your opponent.
"You can't stop the signal."

Post Reply