Nature's Revenge against FW havens like The White Towers

Ask any question regarding the game's (official) rules

Moderators: Jambo, Moderators

melkor_morgoth75
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 8:49 pm
Location: Italy

Nature's Revenge against FW havens like The White Towers

Post by melkor_morgoth75 » Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:29 pm

We are discussing a lot on this one here before championship...

CoE67 states that Nature's Revenge can be played on ANY haven in a wilderness and that's fine for me. But if played at Isengard (haven) or White Towers (haven) the attacks generated by it should cancelled, correct?

So far those sites have a static ability (special: any attack against your companies there is cancelled) that cancels anything, am i correct here too?

thanks again,

mm75

User avatar
Earendil
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 3:58 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Post by Earendil » Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:50 pm

I don't agree, because the site will not be a Wizardhaven any more, but it will become a  :R: , so CvCC and attacks there will be allowed.

Zara also told me something similar: http://www.meccg.net/dforum/viewtopic.php?t=482
Nature's Revenge will work provided the Wizardhaven isn't protected (by, for example, Protected Haven).

Other things to try include:

Heedless Revelry (good sb card),
Lure of Power on guard (to wipe out the influencer),
CVCC (assuming you can),
Influencing away (if you can't CVCC).
But an explanation will be very appreciated. Thank you!
"...And he said that if I had the cheek to make verses about Earendil in the house of Elrond, it was my affair. I suppose he was right :D"

melkor_morgoth75
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 8:49 pm
Location: Italy

Post by melkor_morgoth75 » Thu Apr 27, 2006 1:01 pm

It becomes a ruins an lair, correct, but it doesn't lose its special ability to cancel attacks  :wink:  So even CvCC are cancelled ...

... the battle for the rule has started between Sergio and me ...  :D

mm75

User avatar
Jaded
Posts: 483
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 10:42 am
Location: Poland

Post by Jaded » Thu Apr 27, 2006 10:24 pm

The site is  :R: now it still has ability to cancel attacks, but only for companies at the site, so if someone is moving to it he can be hit during M/H phase. Remember also, that the site is no longer Wizardhaven so no one heals there and a lot of cards are unplayable (characters, "buddy" cards, half-orcs factions).

melkor_morgoth75
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 8:49 pm
Location: Italy

Post by melkor_morgoth75 » Fri Apr 28, 2006 6:00 am

The point (my point) here is:

- You can play NR on a FW haven
- If the fallen wizard haven (like ones with special abilities like White Towers and Isengard or any haven created with Hidden Haven (cause it states any attacks are cancelled for company AT the site) is targeted by NR, it DOES NOT lose his special abilities and so, any ATTACK AT THE SITE is automatically cancelled, CvCC too  :!:

Please, could someone clarify if i'm wrong here?

Thank you very much in advance,

mm75

User avatar
Sly Southerner
Posts: 737
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 10:19 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Post by Sly Southerner » Fri Apr 28, 2006 6:57 am

I think you are correct, but more learned colleagues may know better than me!  :D
So that's where that southerner is hiding...He looks more than half like a goblin.

User avatar
Jaded
Posts: 483
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 10:42 am
Location: Poland

Post by Jaded » Fri Apr 28, 2006 8:40 am

Yes , you are right.

delosanillos
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2004 9:30 pm

Post by delosanillos » Fri Apr 28, 2006 1:15 pm

can i play this card againt hero companie at lorien or rivendel?

User avatar
Earendil
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 3:58 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Post by Earendil » Fri Apr 28, 2006 2:50 pm

delosanillos wrote:can i play this card againt hero companie at lorien or rivendel?
No, because it is referred only ot wizardhavens and not to hero havens.
"...And he said that if I had the cheek to make verses about Earendil in the house of Elrond, it was my affair. I suppose he was right :D"

miguel
General manager
Posts: 442
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 10:38 am
Location: Turku, Finland

Post by miguel » Fri Apr 28, 2006 5:35 pm

This has been in the CoE digests at least twice. Here is the version from CoE #51
Nature's Revenge says, among other things, that it creates an
auto-attack at an unprotected Wizardhaven. But since Wizardhavens all
have the language on them that "all attacks against companies at this
site are cancelled", what does Nature's Revenge do?

*** Nature's Revenge overrides the text on the wizardhavens.
So the auto-attack is not cancelled.

melkor_morgoth75
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 8:49 pm
Location: Italy

Post by melkor_morgoth75 » Fri Apr 28, 2006 7:11 pm

So that means that ANY attack there are NOT cancelled as well? I mean CvCC like any other creature attack ... ?

This seems weird to me  :?:  :idea:

mm75

miguel
General manager
Posts: 442
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 10:38 am
Location: Turku, Finland

Post by miguel » Fri Apr 28, 2006 7:27 pm

I think no attacks would be automatically cancelled anymore, the site has become a  :R:  and they are dangerous places  :D

Nature's Revenge overrides the text on the wizardhavens, so 'cancel all attacks at the site' changes to 'auto-attack'.

User avatar
Sly Southerner
Posts: 737
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 10:19 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Post by Sly Southerner » Sat Apr 29, 2006 6:40 am

Sounds like I was wrong then and have been screwed in the past (presumably unintentionally)!  :evil:
So that's where that southerner is hiding...He looks more than half like a goblin.

User avatar
Jaded
Posts: 483
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 10:42 am
Location: Poland

Post by Jaded » Sat Apr 29, 2006 9:13 am

melkor_morgoth75 wrote:So that means that ANY attack there are NOT cancelled as well? I mean CvCC like any other creature attack ... ?
No that only means, CoE digests are full of mistakes and rules made out of nothing.

miguel
General manager
Posts: 442
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 10:38 am
Location: Turku, Finland

Post by miguel » Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:20 pm

Jaded wrote:No that only means, CoE digests are full of mistakes and rules made out of nothing.
:lol:

The ruling makes perfect sense to me. Ents attacking Isengard weren't cancelled...  :wink:

Post Reply