Character reorganization

Ask any question regarding the game's (official) rules

Moderators: Jambo, Moderators

Morgoth the Black
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 6:09 am
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

Post by Morgoth the Black » Fri May 30, 2008 7:38 am

so in the case with elf song in play if you exceed your 20 GI and all of your characters are at havens thennone of them can be discarded?  Or at least until elf-song is discarded..?

melkor_morgoth75
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 8:49 pm
Location: Italy

Post by melkor_morgoth75 » Fri May 30, 2008 7:50 am

Morgoth the Black wrote:so in the case with elf song in play if you exceed your 20 GI and all of your characters are at havens thennone of them can be discarded?  Or at least until elf-song is discarded..?
Exactly,

mm75

Morgoth the Black
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 6:09 am
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

Post by Morgoth the Black » Fri May 30, 2008 9:53 am

I can see that having the potential of being a little abusive.. :twisted:

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Posts: 417
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 3:17 am
Location: Walbrzych/Poland
Contact:

Post by Konrad Klar » Fri May 30, 2008 10:00 am

Elf-Song is abusive, An Unexcepted Party (permanent-event) is abusive in similar manner.
Elf-Song is only long-event and additionally may be discarded by many Sorrows Befall.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

Morgoth the Black
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 6:09 am
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

Post by Morgoth the Black » Fri May 30, 2008 10:09 am

I was just thinking of pairing it wih echo of all joy and great-road. You would basically have no limit for bringing characters into play and get points at the same time as long as you could keep bringing back the great road or those kinda resources (come to think of it, there is also Bill the Pony).  But ya, the many sorrows befall would just kill it.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Posts: 417
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 3:17 am
Location: Walbrzych/Poland
Contact:

Post by Konrad Klar » Fri May 30, 2008 10:21 am

Crown of Flowers?
Did you mean Echo of All Joy? If so, there is another counter - Doors of Night.

P.S.
|Highwayman| was playing deck based on this concept at one of polish tournaments. Successfully!
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

melkor_morgoth75
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 8:49 pm
Location: Italy

Post by melkor_morgoth75 » Fri May 30, 2008 10:27 am

Konrad Klar wrote:Crown of Flowers?
Did you mean Echo of All Joy? If so, there is another counter - Doors of Night.
I guess so ;-)

mm75

Morgoth the Black
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 6:09 am
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

Post by Morgoth the Black » Fri May 30, 2008 10:42 am

yep I did mean echo of all joy.  I have no idea why but I always get the two mixed up.  But ya, I think for this combo there are way too may holes but it was just an idea :?

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Posts: 417
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 3:17 am
Location: Walbrzych/Poland
Contact:

Post by Konrad Klar » Fri May 30, 2008 10:52 am

Morgoth the Black wrote:I have no idea why but I always get the two mixed up.
I have idea why!  :)
With Crown of Flowers you can play Echo of All Joy even if Doors of Night is in play.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

Morgoth the Black
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 6:09 am
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

Post by Morgoth the Black » Fri May 30, 2008 6:48 pm

There is logic to my madness after all :wink:

Someone was actually able to get such a combo off?  I would like to see what kind of deck that was!

User avatar
Zakath
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 9:45 pm
Location: United States

Post by Zakath » Wed Jun 04, 2008 11:17 pm

It's been done, definitely. Can be quite nasty actually. You can have all 3 elf lords sitting at home + pallando = 4 extra cards in your hand.

Jambo
Moderator
Posts: 988
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2003 11:58 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Post by Jambo » Thu Jun 05, 2008 10:28 am

The trouble is in getting the item and ally points when there's lots of haven squatting. Faction will have to be played last turn, otherwise your opponent will just play Muster Disperses.
Visit the Optional Rules forum and try out the community accepted Unofficial Errata.

Post Reply