Extra actions of agents

Ask any question regarding the game's (official) rules

Moderators: Jambo, Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Fangorn
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 8:46 pm
Location: Nantes, France

Extra actions of agents

Post by Fangorn » Sat Dec 27, 2008 2:58 pm

My Precious
[Scout Hobbit]
[2/9 ; -1 kill MP ; 4 mind ; 0 direct influence ; +4 corruption mod]
[Home Site : Mt.Doom, Shelob's Lair, Goblin-gate, Moria]
Unique. Manifestation of Gollum. Agent.
May take an extra agent action (not counting against the hazard limit) each time he normally takes an agent action.
If he attacks successfully against a company with a ring, he and a ring (attacker's choice) are discarded.
If My Precious attacks and fails but is not defeated, the defender may tap a character in the target company to play Gollum (My Precious is discarded).
Any player whose character eliminates My Precious receives -1 kill MPs.
Never Seen Him
[Hazard permanent-event]
Playable on an agent.
Target agent may take an extra agent action (which does not count against the hazard limit) each time he normally takes an agent action.
Cannot be duplicated on a given agent.
Great Need or Purpose
[Hazard long-event]
Each agent may take an extra agent action each time he normally takes an agent action.
Cannot be duplicated.
If Never Seen Him is played on My Precious and Great Need or Purpose is in play, I think My Precious may take 4 actions (i.e. extra actions are added, not multiplied themselves).
Is it right ?
Hrum, Hoom ! Do not be hasty, that is my motto.

Leon
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 12:54 pm

Post by Leon » Mon Dec 29, 2008 1:18 pm

I think you are right. The rulebook states a number of normal agent actions and you can take one of these per agent per turn. All these effects just add an action.

Old Tuk
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 9:00 am
Location: Germany

Post by Old Tuk » Tue Dec 30, 2008 2:13 pm

You have to regard the word normally in the cards text.
CRF Normal
Normal means as written on the card, not considering other card's effects. Note that this definition only applies to effects refering to card texts.
For example:

Lets say all the cards you mentioned are in play.

My Precious moves (normal agent action)
Never Seen Him triggers (+1 action, not normal)
Great Need Or Purpose triggers (+1 Action, not normal)
My Precious triggers (+1 agent action, not normal)

So you would be able to do 4 actions in total. At least thats how I`d explain it.
Leon wrote:The rulebook states a number of normal agent actions and you can take one of these per agent per turn.
The rules-book states a number of one agent action per agent and per turn.

Leon
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 12:54 pm

Post by Leon » Tue Dec 30, 2008 4:33 pm

a number = several like tapping to attack and moving. Thank you for whining about my english.

Old Tuk
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 9:00 am
Location: Germany

Post by Old Tuk » Fri Jan 02, 2009 10:55 am

I didnt meant to "whine" about your english but clarify the rule.  It looks like its my english I should whine about. :wink:

Leon
Posts: 208
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 12:54 pm

Post by Leon » Fri Jan 02, 2009 11:58 am

Ok. Next time I will try to answer questions with a slightly longer post, so there can be no uncertainty about what I am saying.

User avatar
Sauron
Posts: 485
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 6:04 pm

Post by Sauron » Mon Jan 05, 2009 9:49 pm

Also note:

Great need or purpose.  That extra agent action costs a hazard.  Just because they can take an extra action, doesn't mean you have the hazard limit to pay for it.

Post Reply