Concerning the Sideboard

Ask any question regarding the game's (official) rules

Moderators: Jambo, Moderators

Post Reply
Westghost
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 9:19 am
Location: Troisdorf, Germany

Concerning the Sideboard

Post by Westghost » Wed Aug 04, 2004 7:49 am

Hi all,

got a question concerning the sideboard.

How many cards are allowed in it?
when and how can I bring cards from the sb in my discard pile or my play deck?

I read something about tapping your wizard?

I never played with sideboard before, but now I will try :)

thx
Peace is just the time, the militaries need to rebuild...

User avatar
Sauron
Posts: 485
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 6:04 pm

Post by Sauron » Wed Aug 04, 2004 8:17 am

You are allowed a 30 card sideboard, and an additional 10 cards versus FW.

Ways to get Resources out of your Sideboard.

If your play deck has 5 or more cards in it, you can tap a wizard to bring a card over into the play deck during the org phase.

You can tap a wizard to bring up to 5 resources from the sideboard to the discard pile.

Smoke Rings, and Longbottom leaf allow you to sideboard a resource at any time during your turn.

For Hazards

If you have 5 or more cards you can 1/2 the hazard limit against your opponent before his turn begins to bring over 1 hazard into your play deck.

If you have 5 or more cards you can tap a Nazgul to bring a hazard from the sideboard into the deck.

You can tap a nazgul to bring up to 5 hazards to your discard pile.

Unexpected outpost can be used to bring a hazard from the sideboard into your play deck.

These are some of the basic sideboarding techniques.

Jambo
Moderator
Posts: 988
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2003 11:58 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Post by Jambo » Wed Aug 04, 2004 9:07 am

Whilst Sauron is correct, I'll just add one further clarification to one of the points he mentioned:
If you have 5 or more cards you can 1/2 the hazard limit against your opponent before his turn begins to bring over 1 hazard into your play deck.
This has to be performed during the Untap Phase and can only be done if your opponent's avatar (Wizard, Ringwraith, Balrog, Sauron/Lidless Eye) is in play.

There is another way to access your sideboard and that is when your playdeck exhausts. When this occurs you may transfer up to 5 cards between your sideboard and your discard pile prior to reshuffling the discard pile back to your playdeck.

:D

Zarathustra
Posts: 1968
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2003 9:07 pm
Location: NY

Post by Zarathustra » Wed Aug 04, 2004 12:47 pm

and any time you bring something straight into the play deck from the sideboard, be sure to shuffle!

Westghost
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 9:19 am
Location: Troisdorf, Germany

Post by Westghost » Wed Aug 04, 2004 1:51 pm

does my wizard has to roll against corruption?

if i half the hazards, can I only bring one hazard from the sb in play or can I also choose to bring 5 in my discard pile?

what about characters? counting to resources?
Peace is just the time, the militaries need to rebuild...

User avatar
Yü-Gung
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 10:35 pm
Location: Venlo, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Yü-Gung » Wed Aug 04, 2004 2:31 pm

Westghost wrote:does my wizard has to roll against corruption?

if i half the hazards, can I only bring one hazard from the sb in play or can I also choose to bring 5 in my discard pile?

what about characters? counting to resources?
no, your wizard needn't make a corruption check.

yes, you can either bring one hazard to your playdeck or 5 hazards to your discard pile when you halve your opponents HL during his untap phase.

yes, characters count as resources, except for agent minions in a hero deck.
Image

User avatar
Sauron
Posts: 485
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 6:04 pm

Post by Sauron » Thu Aug 05, 2004 7:13 am

You can sideboard to bring a character or resource. They are 2 different things. Smoke rings allows a character or resource, but longbottom leaf only allows resources.

User avatar
Yü-Gung
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 10:35 pm
Location: Venlo, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Yü-Gung » Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:32 pm

indeed
Image

Zarathustra
Posts: 1968
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2003 9:07 pm
Location: NY

Post by Zarathustra » Thu Aug 05, 2004 2:15 pm

Ancient Secrets also only allows resources.

User avatar
Yü-Gung
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 10:35 pm
Location: Venlo, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Yü-Gung » Thu Aug 05, 2004 2:18 pm

Yes and tapping your wizard/ringwraith allows for characters and resources.
Image

User avatar
Sly Southerner
Posts: 737
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 10:19 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Post by Sly Southerner » Wed Aug 18, 2004 10:59 pm

Hi All, I'm back after a long abscence caused by moving to the UK!
Mark Alfano posted his tips for the sideboard on the board elsewhere and this had the biggest effect on my gameplay of any other post I've read. I guess thats why he is teh world champ! I think that your sideboad hazards, and defending against your opponents sideboard hazards with good deck construction are the key to winning the game.

Zarathustra
Posts: 1968
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2003 9:07 pm
Location: NY

Post by Zarathustra » Thu Aug 19, 2004 5:55 am

glad to be of service :D

I'd suggest at least 15 hazards in your sideboard (assuming it's 30 cards) to make it comprehensive enough. 18 is great. 20 is outstanding.

MRA

Post Reply