Character difference in company vs company combat

Ask any question regarding the game's (official) rules

Moderators: Jambo, Moderators

Post Reply
Qapla
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 9:12 pm
Location: A hole in the south of the Netherlands

Character difference in company vs company combat

Post by Qapla » Wed Sep 15, 2004 3:37 pm

Last weekend we played a game in wich I declared cvcc. Since I had 7 characters and my opponent only 4 I could give 3x a -1 to prowess to his characters. Then we had a different opinion about my extra characters that were not assigned a strike. Can I still tap those to support my other fighting characters like I can when facing a hazard creature or auto attack?
HeglumeH QaQ jajvam!

User avatar
Yü-Gung
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 10:35 pm
Location: Venlo, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Yü-Gung » Wed Sep 15, 2004 7:09 pm

You cannot tap characters in support if you are the initiator of cvcc. You get to give -1 modifiers on opposing characters for all your excess characters, which is almost the same, only on the other side of the equation, and with the benefit that your characters do not end up tapped.
Image

Tegarend
Moderator
Posts: 522
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2003 12:59 pm
Location: Antwerp (Belgium)

Post by Tegarend » Thu Sep 16, 2004 6:57 am

Now who did say that last Friday again :roll: ?

User avatar
Lord Leuber
Posts: 433
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 6:35 pm
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Lord Leuber » Thu Sep 16, 2004 7:42 am

Yü-Gung wrote:and with the benefit that your characters do not end up tapped.
And that they could be tapped in the first place. If the defender has more characters but they're tapped out, they don't contribute anything to the CvCC.

Jambo
Moderator
Posts: 988
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2003 11:58 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Post by Jambo » Thu Sep 16, 2004 8:22 am

Correct. Probably the one and only advantage of being the attacker!

Qapla
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 9:12 pm
Location: A hole in the south of the Netherlands

Post by Qapla » Thu Sep 16, 2004 3:31 pm

Hey, I killed half the guys company so don't tell me it wasn't an advantage to attack. I didn't think anything else would happen since my attacking company contained tom bombadil and leaflock.

Yep Kris, you were right.
HeglumeH QaQ jajvam!

Tegarend
Moderator
Posts: 522
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2003 12:59 pm
Location: Antwerp (Belgium)

Post by Tegarend » Thu Sep 16, 2004 4:31 pm

Wasn't leaflock, it was Skinbark (I wouldn't be too comfortable going into CvCC with Leaflock ...)

User avatar
Lord Leuber
Posts: 433
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 6:35 pm
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Lord Leuber » Thu Sep 16, 2004 6:27 pm

Hey, that sounds like Mark Alfano's Fallen Radagast deck! :D

Tegarend
Moderator
Posts: 522
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2003 12:59 pm
Location: Antwerp (Belgium)

Post by Tegarend » Thu Sep 16, 2004 6:43 pm

He even told us so ... before pounding my friend into the ground with it

Poor Thrain ...

Qapla
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 9:12 pm
Location: A hole in the south of the Netherlands

Post by Qapla » Fri Sep 17, 2004 2:26 pm

Sorry, no credits for Mark this time. I just made a fun deck with a few big allies and go after my opponent to kill some of his characters.
Indeed Bart's Thrain got himself killed by Tom Bombadil. Big surprise that a hero fallen wizard company can initiate cvcc when the company contains a great bats! :twisted:
HeglumeH QaQ jajvam!

Post Reply