Page 2 of 3

Posted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 3:17 pm
by Agent of Steel 44
Why would TotV allow a Troll/Orc to be played without Bad Company ? It shouldn't be allowed, it makes these decks even more easy....

Posted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 5:50 pm
by Sauron
TotV says any character. It has been ruled that any character includes trolls and orcs.

Posted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 5:51 pm
by Sauron
Lord Leuber wrote:Mark, would you put the Gatherer of Loyalties and the Legacy of Smiths in the deck or the sideboard? If SB, that's two more cards that have to come over - might not be possible... :?
With 2 Longbottom Leaf, 2 Weigh all things, and radagast you can get everything from the sideboard into the play deck. I've done it many times.

Posted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 9:30 pm
by Strider
I have played against this deck before, it is really quite annoying. :D

Now if the Troll-Chief can be included in the starting company with a thrall, why can't Fram or the 3 trolls be?

Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 3:04 am
by Zarathustra
Agent of Steel 44 wrote:Why would TotV allow a Troll/Orc to be played without Bad Company ? It shouldn't be allowed, it makes these decks even more easy....
No one said it should be this way... just that it is....
Strider wrote:Now if the Troll-Chief can be included in the starting company with a thrall, why can't Fram or the 3 trolls be?
Because Fram, Burat, Tuma, and Wuluag say on them that they may not be included in the starting company. The Troll Chief (and other overt characters, as well as all agents) don't say that on their cards that they cannot be played in the starting company. There is the key difference. :idea:

Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 5:56 am
by Lord Leuber
I.e. in the case of the Troll Chief it's card (Thrall) vs. rule (FW rule about orcs & trolls) - the card wins.

In the case of Fram it's card (Fram) vs card (Thrall) - actually, it's a conflict, so a ruling had to be made (CRF) that Fram and the troll trio can't be played with TotV.

Posted: Fri Aug 13, 2004 11:34 pm
by Strider
Ah, that make it more clear. Thanks guys! :D

Open to the Summons

Posted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 3:03 pm
by Beren
Why do you use Open to the Summons? Is it necessary with a minion agent in WH?

Re: Open to the Summons

Posted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 5:19 pm
by Peter
Beren wrote:Why do you use Open to the Summons? Is it necessary with a minion agent in WH?
Not really, Thrall explicitely says it may be used for agents too. I can see two major differences between Thrall and Open though, Thrall gives one stage point and allows 6 mind chars to be played whereas Open only allows 5 mind chars to be played (but doesn't give a stage point).

Open to the Summons

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 12:40 pm
by Beren
But my question is: Can I play a minion agent on the starter company with WH without Open to the Summons?

Re: Open to the Summons

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 2:00 pm
by Peter
Beren wrote:But my question is: Can I play a minion agent on the starter company with WH without Open to the Summons?
Yes. Thrall of the Voice explicitely says it may be used for the starting company, and you may play it as one of your starting stage cards.

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 2:12 pm
by Zarathustra
I think he's asking if he can play an agent without Thrall or Open. If so, the answer is no.

Sorry: them's the rules ;)

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 4:05 pm
by Beren
Ok, thanks for all.

Posted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 4:46 pm
by Jambo
I hate playing against the great big stinking mound of cheeze that are some FW decks...

Imho, some of them really detract from an otherwise superb game.

Posted: Sun Dec 05, 2004 12:50 pm
by Qapla
It is indeed a very powerfull deck when it comes to the point of countering with hazards. Are there hazard strategies that can be used to counter this kind of deck?