List and discuss your decks under construction or already in use.
Moderators: Tegarend, Moderators
-
Agent of Steel 44
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 9:56 am
- Location: Veldwezelt, Belgium
Post
by Agent of Steel 44 » Wed Aug 11, 2004 3:17 pm
Why would TotV allow a Troll/Orc to be played without Bad Company ? It shouldn't be allowed, it makes these decks even more easy....
Illuminati is Machine
-
Sauron
- Posts: 485
- Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 6:04 pm
Post
by Sauron » Wed Aug 11, 2004 5:50 pm
TotV says any character. It has been ruled that any character includes trolls and orcs.
-
Sauron
- Posts: 485
- Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 6:04 pm
Post
by Sauron » Wed Aug 11, 2004 5:51 pm
Lord Leuber wrote:Mark, would you put the Gatherer of Loyalties and the Legacy of Smiths in the deck or the sideboard? If SB, that's two more cards that have to come over - might not be possible...

With 2 Longbottom Leaf, 2 Weigh all things, and radagast you can get everything from the sideboard into the play deck. I've done it many times.
-
Strider
- Moderator
- Posts: 202
- Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 5:56 pm
- Location: Pennsylvania, USA
-
Contact:
Post
by Strider » Wed Aug 11, 2004 9:30 pm
I have played against this deck before, it is really quite annoying.
Now if the Troll-Chief can be included in the starting company with a thrall, why can't Fram or the 3 trolls be?
"You can't stop the signal."
-
Zarathustra
- Posts: 1968
- Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2003 9:07 pm
- Location: NY
Post
by Zarathustra » Thu Aug 12, 2004 3:04 am
Agent of Steel 44 wrote:Why would TotV allow a Troll/Orc to be played without Bad Company ? It shouldn't be allowed, it makes these decks even more easy....
No one said it
should be this way... just that it is....
Strider wrote:Now if the Troll-Chief can be included in the starting company with a thrall, why can't Fram or the 3 trolls be?
Because Fram, Burat, Tuma, and Wuluag say on them that they may not be included in the starting company. The Troll Chief (and other overt characters, as well as all agents) don't say that on their cards that they cannot be played in the starting company. There is the key difference.

-
Lord Leuber
- Posts: 433
- Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 6:35 pm
- Location: the Netherlands
-
Contact:
Post
by Lord Leuber » Thu Aug 12, 2004 5:56 am
I.e. in the case of the Troll Chief it's card (Thrall) vs. rule (FW rule about orcs & trolls) - the card wins.
In the case of Fram it's card (Fram) vs card (Thrall) - actually, it's a conflict, so a ruling had to be made (CRF) that Fram and the troll trio can't be played with TotV.
-
Strider
- Moderator
- Posts: 202
- Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 5:56 pm
- Location: Pennsylvania, USA
-
Contact:
Post
by Strider » Fri Aug 13, 2004 11:34 pm
Ah, that make it more clear. Thanks guys!

"You can't stop the signal."
-
Beren
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 10:51 am
Post
by Beren » Sun Nov 14, 2004 3:03 pm
Why do you use Open to the Summons? Is it necessary with a minion agent in WH?
-
Peter
- Posts: 517
- Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 8:53 am
- Location: Netherlands
Post
by Peter » Sun Nov 14, 2004 5:19 pm
Beren wrote:Why do you use Open to the Summons? Is it necessary with a minion agent in WH?
Not really, Thrall explicitely says it may be used for agents too. I can see two major differences between Thrall and Open though, Thrall gives one stage point and allows 6 mind chars to be played whereas Open only allows 5 mind chars to be played (but doesn't give a stage point).
-
Beren
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 10:51 am
Post
by Beren » Mon Nov 15, 2004 12:40 pm
But my question is: Can I play a minion agent on the starter company with WH without Open to the Summons?
-
Peter
- Posts: 517
- Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 8:53 am
- Location: Netherlands
Post
by Peter » Mon Nov 15, 2004 2:00 pm
Beren wrote:But my question is: Can I play a minion agent on the starter company with WH without Open to the Summons?
Yes.
Thrall of the Voice explicitely says it may be used for the starting company, and you may play it as one of your starting stage cards.
-
Zarathustra
- Posts: 1968
- Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2003 9:07 pm
- Location: NY
Post
by Zarathustra » Mon Nov 15, 2004 2:12 pm
I think he's asking if he can play an agent without Thrall or Open. If so, the answer is no.
Sorry: them's the rules

-
Beren
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 10:51 am
Post
by Beren » Mon Nov 15, 2004 4:05 pm
Ok, thanks for all.
-
Jambo
- Moderator
- Posts: 988
- Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2003 11:58 pm
- Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Post
by Jambo » Mon Nov 15, 2004 4:46 pm
I hate playing against the great big stinking mound of cheeze that are some FW decks...
Imho, some of them really detract from an otherwise superb game.
-
Qapla
- Posts: 65
- Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 9:12 pm
- Location: A hole in the south of the Netherlands
Post
by Qapla » Sun Dec 05, 2004 12:50 pm
It is indeed a very powerfull deck when it comes to the point of countering with hazards. Are there hazard strategies that can be used to counter this kind of deck?
HeglumeH QaQ jajvam!